Kevin's Picks

  Kevin holds a BA in poetry and a minor in Eastern philosophy from Georgia College. He has a passion for poetry, short stories and photography. He teaches creative writing seasonly for Duke Universities T.I.P program. Some of his favorite authors are Flannery O Connor, Ray Bradbury, Karen Russell, Aldous Huxley, Herman Hesse and Robert Bly. He enjoys hiking, folk music, and words such as husk, hymn, and hum.
Staff Pick Badge
North American Lake Monsters Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781618730602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Small Beer Press - July 16th, 2013

Brilliantly Haunting!One of the best things I have read this year. Ballingrud weaves tales that are both darkly luminous and disturbingly beautiful. Highly reccommended for fans of Karen Russell and Flannery O Connor.You will NOT find this book in any other store.Buy it! Trust me. 


Staff Pick Badge
Food of the Gods: The Search for the Original Tree of Knowledge A Radical History of Plants, Drugs, and Human Evolution Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780553371307
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Bantam - January 1st, 1993

Facinating! A must read for anyonw interested in the way in which drugs have shaped human evolution!


Staff Pick Badge
Vampires in the Lemon Grove: And Other Stories (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307947475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - January 14th, 2014

A masterfully crafted collection of short stories by one of America's best emerging young writers! Her debut novel was nominatd for the Pulitzer prize. This girl has an imagination that will make your head spin. My favorite book of 2012 thus far! 


Staff Pick Badge
Swamplandia! (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307276681
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Vintage - July 26th, 2011

This is her debut novel. It almost won the Pulitzer Prize. She is only 31. Enough Said.  


St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307276674
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - August 14th, 2007

Brilliantly unique and haunting! Russell is one the best emerging young writers of our generation. Her debut novel Swamplandia nearly won the Pulitzer prize. These stories are like dreams that never leave... --Kevin 


Staff Pick Badge
Nine Stories Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316769501
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - May 1st, 1991

Powerful stories from the author of the cult classic The Catcher in the Rye. Great Stuff! Great Price.


Staff Pick Badge
DMT: The Spirit Molecule: A Doctor's Revolutionary Research into the Biology of Near-Death and Mystical Experiences Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780892819270
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Park Street Press - December 1st, 2000

DMT. It is realased in you brain when you are born and when you die. It is also the most powerful hallucinogen in the world. See that happens when this doctor injects it directly into his subjects bloodstream. You might be surprised.


Staff Pick Badge
Tao Te Ching: A New English Version (Perennial Classics) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780061142666
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - September 5th, 2006

This book changed my life! You should probaly have it on you at all times.


Staff Pick Badge
The Complete Stories (FSG Classics) Cover Image
By Flannery O'Connor, Robert Giroux (Introduction by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780374515362
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - January 1st, 1971

A poweful collection of stories by the master of Southern Gothic Lit!!


Staff Pick Badge
Steppenwolf: A Novel Cover Image
By Hermann Hesse, Basil Creighton (Translated by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780312278670
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Picador - December 6th, 2002

WOW!


Staff Pick Badge
The Martian Chronicles Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781451678192
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 17th, 2012

Exceedingly beautiful, smart, and poetic.


Staff Pick Badge
Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780061561795
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - October 20th, 2009

Huxly's Uptopian novel as opposed to his more well known dystopian Brave New World.


Staff Pick Badge
Brave New World Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060850524
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - October 17th, 2006

If you have not read it you are doing it wrong.


Staff Pick Badge
The Rag and Bone Shop of the Heart: A Poetry Anthology Cover Image
$17.99
This book is currently on backorder. Please call or email for availability.
ISBN: 9780060924201
Published: Harper Perennial - August 4th, 1993

One of the best and most diverse collections of poetry out there. In this beautifully organized anthlogy you will find everything from Homer to Bob Dylan!


Staff Pick Badge
East of Eden Cover Image
$21.00
ISBN: 9780142004234
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Penguin Books - June 18th, 2003

This is a very long book.I have read it three times......Just sayin. 


Staff Pick Badge
Of Mice and Men: (Centennial Edition) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780142000670
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Penguin Books - January 8th, 2002

One of the best "short" stories ever written!If you have not read it you are doing it wrong. 


Staff Pick Badge
Actual Air Cover Image
$14.00
This book is currently on backorder. Please call or email for availability.
ISBN: 9781890447045
Published: Grove Press, Open City Books - February 1st, 2000

The amazing and mostly unknown poetry of David Berman the frontman of the indie band The Silver Jews.This book is why I became a poet!! 


Staff Pick Badge
Tenth of December: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812984255
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 7th, 2014

Some of the most powerful and intense short stories I have read in years! The New York Times called this "The best book you will read all year. I Highley recommend this collection!" --Kevin


Staff Pick Badge
North American Lake Monsters Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781618730602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Small Beer Press - July 16th, 2013

Powerfully engaging and haunting! These stories are in many ways beautifully horrifying. I highly recommend this Asheville Local's first collection! I was blown away. --Kevin


Staff Pick Badge
A Land More Kind Than Home: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062088239
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 22nd, 2013

A powerful debut novel from Asheville local Wiley Cash! This book will keep you on the edge of your seat. Think rattlesnakes, churches, and guns.... Very much in the southern gothic style of Flannery O' Connor


Staff Pick Badge
The Swing Girl Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780807138946
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: LSU Press - September 12th, 2011

A Powerful collection of poems from one of Asheville's best poets!! I highly recommend it! READ LOCAL POETRY.


Staff Pick Badge
The Kept: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
This book is currently on backorder. Please call or email for availability.
ISBN: 9780062236739
Published: Harper - January 7th, 2014

A powerful debut by an extremly talented writer. Ron Rash, a local favorite, calls James Scott "a bright new voice in American" and I agree. The Kept is filled with lyrical language and powerful imagery that will stick with you for days! I expect big things from Scott!