Off-Site | Camp Prodigy Book Signing with Caroline Palmer at The Hop Ice Cream (Merrimon Ave.)

Image shows photo of Caroline Palmer with their violin, next to an image of their book CAMP PRODIGY.
Saturday, June 15, 2024 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm

Join us at The Hop Ice Cream (and Pop Bubble Tea) for a meet & greet, book signing, and some drawing with Caroline Palmer, author and illustrator of Camp Prodigy! Drop in between 2 and 4 PM.

This event in the Young Readers Series presented by The Hop Ice Cream and Malaprop’s Bookstore/Cafe is free and open to the public.

Caroline's books along with delicious ice cream and bubble tea will be available for purchase at the signing. If you can't make it to the in-person signing, you may order signed books below.


Camp Prodigy
Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson and Raina Telgemeier, this heartwarming middle grade graphic novel follows two nonbinary kids who navigate anxiety and identity while having fun and forming friendships at their summer orchestra camp.


After attending an incredible concert, Tate Seong is inspired to become a professional violist. There’s just one problem: they’re the worst musician at their school.

Tate doesn’t even have enough confidence to assert themself with their friends or come out as nonbinary to their family, let alone attempt a solo anytime soon. Things start to look up when Tate attends a summer orchestra camp—Camp Prodigy—and runs into Eli, the remarkable violist who inspired Tate to play in the first place.

But Eli has been hiding their skills ever since their time in the spotlight gave them a nervous breakdown. Together, can they figure out how to turn Tate into a star and have Eli overcome their performance anxieties? Or will the pressure take them both down?

Caroline Palmer is a nonbinary comic creator. Their work has been published in the comics anthology, A Taste of Home (2020) by Level Ground Comics, and they’ve been consistently updating their Webtoon Talent de Lune since 2016.

Event address: 
The Hop Ice Cream
640 Merrimon Ave
Asheville, NC 28804
Books: 
Camp Prodigy By Caroline Palmer, Caroline Palmer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Caroline Palmer, Caroline Palmer (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781665930376
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 11th, 2024

Camp Prodigy By Caroline Palmer, Caroline Palmer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Caroline Palmer, Caroline Palmer (Illustrator)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781665930383
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 11th, 2024