A New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of fourteen novels, Mary Alice Monroe launched a new trilogy with The Summer Girls, in which three sisters reunite on Sullivan's Island, off the coast of South Carolina, after years of separation. Novelist Patti Callahan Henry praises Monroe's book in this way: "Monroe's resplendent storytelling shines even brighter . . . [with] startling insights into the intimate connection between nature and the human heart."

Event date: 
Saturday, July 6, 2013 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
55 Haywood St
28801 Asheville
The Summer Girls (Lowcountry Summer Trilogy) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781476709000
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - June 25th, 2013

DescriptionThree sisters reunite on Sullivan’s Island off the coast of South Carolina after years of separation in this heartwarming first novel in a new trilogy from a beloved author.Eighty-year-old Marietta Muir is a dowager of Charleston society who has retired to her historic summer home on Sullivan’s Island. At the onset of summer, Marietta, “Mamaw,” seeks to gather her three granddaughters—Carson, Eudora, and Harper—with the intent to reunite them after years apart. Monroe explores the depths and complexities of sisterhood, friendship and the power of forgiveness. The Summer Girls is a perfect beach read and anyone who “enjoys such fine southern voices as Pat Conroy will add the talented Monroe to their list of favorites” (Booklist).About the AuthorMary Alice Monroe is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of fourteen novels, including Beach House Memories, The Butterfly’s Daughter, Time Is a River, and Last Light Over Carolina. Her latest novel, Beach House Memories, is the prequel to her bestsellers The Beach House and Swimming Lessons. For more information about Mary Alice’s books, visit her at