Live Stream | Paz Pardo presents The Shamshine Blind in conversation with Leah Hampton

Image shows photos of Paz Pardo, Leah Hampton, and the front cover Pardo's book, The Shamshine Blind.

This live streamed virtual event is free but registration is required. Please click here to register. The link required to attend will be emailed to registrants prior to the event. 

If you decide to attend and to purchase books, we ask that you purchase from Malaprop's. When you do this you make it possible for us to continue hosting author events and you keep more dollars in our community. You may also support our work by purchasing a gift card or making a donation of any amount below. Thank you!


The Shamshine Blind

A beguiling blend of noir detective story and science fiction perfect for fans of Michael Chabon and Emily St. John Mandel, this unputdownable debut imagines a world where emotions have been weaponized, and a small-town law enforcement agent uncovers a conspiracy to take down what’s left of American democracy.

In an alternate 2009, the United States has been a second-rate power for a quarter of a century, ever since Argentina’s victory in the Falkland’s War thanks to their development of “psychopigments.” Created as weapons, these colorful chemicals can produce almost any human emotion upon contact, and they have been embraced in the US as both pharmaceutical cure-alls and popular recreational drugs. Black market traders illegally sell everything from Blackberry Purple (which causes terror) to Sunshine Yellow (which delivers happiness).

Psychopigment Enforcement Agent Kay Curtida works a beat in Daly City, just outside the ruins of San Francisco, chasing down smalltime crooks. But when an old friend shows up with a tantalizing lead on a career-making case, Curtida’s humdrum existence suddenly gets a boost. Little does she know that this case will send her down a tangled path of conspiracy and lead to an overdue reckoning with her family and with the truth of her own emotions.

Told in the voice of a funny, brooding, Latinx Sam Spade, The Shamshine Blind is “a rip-roaring beautifully crafted mash-up of cop noir, sci-fi, and alt-history that left me dazzled by its prescience and literary zing” (Leah Hampton, author of F*ckface).

Paz Pardo is an Argentine-American award-winning playwright and novelist. She received her MFA from the Michener Center for Writers, her undergraduate degree from Stanford University, and is the recipient of a Fulbright scholarship. Raised in America, she currently lives in Argentina. The Shamshine Blind is her first novel. Find out more at PazSays.com. 

Leah Hampton writes about Appalachia, corpses, ecoanxiety, and smart women. She currently serves as the Environmental Humanities Fellow in Residence at the University of Idaho. Her debut collection, F*ckface and Other Stories, was released by Henry Holt and was named one of the best books of 2020 by The Paris Review, the New York Public Library, Slate, and others. A graduate of the Michener Center for Writers, she has been awarded multiple prizes and fellowships including UT-Austin’s Keene Prize for Literature and the Phillip Roth residency at the Stadler Center for Poetry. Her work has appeared in EcotoneGuernicaMcSweeneysElectric LiteraturestorySouthLitHub, and many other elsewheres. She lives in the Blue Ridge Mountains near the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Learn more at leahkhampton.com

 

Event address: 
Virtual event on YouTube
Books: 
The Shamshine Blind: A Novel By Paz Pardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982185329
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 14th, 2023

Staff Pick Badge
F*ckface: And Other Stories By Leah Hampton Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250259592
Availability: Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - July 14th, 2020

$0.00
SKU: x672389
$