Live Stream: Alex Aster presents the Emblem Island Series in conversation with Adrienne Young

Event Image: 

Click here to RSVP for this event. On the day of the event, we will send a reminder email with the link required to attend.

PRE-ORDER Curse of the Forgetten City from Malaprop's below to get EXCLUSIVE SWAG: The story between the chapters of Emblem Island Book 1 printed as it's own book, "The Book of Cuentos," and a poster of the new cover! (While supplies last. Poster will be folded if mailed. Details included with your order confirmation.)

Book of Cuentos

Like most of our events, this event is free. If you decide to attend and to purchase the authors' books, we ask that you purchase from Malaprop's. When you do this you make it possible for us to continue hosting author events and you keep more dollars in our local community.

You may also support our work by purchasing a gift card or making a donation of any amount below. Thank you! 


Curse of the Night Witch is an #ownvoices fast-paced series starter steeped in Colombian mythology and full of adventure, perfect for fans of Percy Jackson. Filled with fantasy, action, adventure, and an unforgettable trio of friends. 

A Seventeen.com Most Anticipated Book of Summer, A Zibby Owens Summer Reading Pick on Good Morning America

Debut author Aster takes inspiration from Colombian folklore to craft a rousing series opener that's both fast-paced and thrilling. As her protagonists face off against a host of horrors, they learn the value of friendship and explore the possibility of changing one's fate in a world where destiny is predetermined.--Publishers Weekly, STARRED review

Worthy of every magical ounce.--Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review

Curse of the Forgotten City is the second book in the Emblem Island series. In this tale Tor, Engle, and Melda must stop a band of cursed pirates from taking over their home.


Alex Aster is the award-winning author of Emblem Island: Curse of the Night Witch, the first in a series inspired by the stories her Colombian grandmother used to tell her before bedtime. Aster graduated summa cum laude from UPenn, where she studied English. The second book in the series, Curse of the Forgetten City is released June 8, 2021.

Adrienne Young is the New York Times, USA Today and Indie bestselling author of the Fable duology and the Sky in the Deep duology. She is a foodie with a deep love of history and travel and a shameless addiction to coffee. When she’s not writing, you can find her on her yoga mat, sipping wine over long dinners or disappearing into her favorite art museums. She lives with her documentary filmmaker husband and their four little wildlings in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina.

Event address: 
Virtual Event on YouTube
Curse of the Forgotten City Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492697237
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - June 8th, 2021

Curse of the Night Witch Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781728232447
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - April 27th, 2021

The Last Legacy: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250823724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - September 7th, 2021

Namesake: A Novel (Fable #2) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250254399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - March 16th, 2021

Fable: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250254368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - September 1st, 2020

$0.00
SKU: x672389
$