The Parted Earth (Paperback)

The Parted Earth By Anjali Enjeti Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe
1 on hand, as of Aug 17 5:03pm

Description


Spanning more than half a century and cities from New Delhi to Atlanta, Anjali Enjeti's debut is a heartfelt and human portrait of the long shadow of the Partition of India on the lives of three generations of women.

The story begins in August 1947. Unrest plagues the streets of New Delhi leading up to the birth of the Muslim majority nation of Pakistan, and the Hindu majority nation of India. Sixteen-year-old Deepa navigates the changing politics of her home, finding solace in messages of intricate origami from her secret boyfriend Amir. Soon Amir flees with his family to Pakistan and a tragedy forces Deepa to leave the subcontinent forever.

The story also begins sixty years later and half a world away, in Atlanta. While grieving both a pregnancy loss and the implosion of her marriage, Deepa's granddaughter Shan begins the search for her estranged grandmother, a prickly woman who had little interest in knowing her. As she pieces together her family history shattered by the Partition, Shan discovers how little she actually knows about the women in her family and what they endured.

For readers of Jess Walter's Beautiful Ruins, The Parted Earth follows Shan on her search for identity after loss uproots her life. Above all, it is a novel about families weathering the lasting violence of separation, and how it can often takes a lifetime to find unity and peace.

About the Author


Anjali Enjeti is a former attorney, journalist, and author based near Atlanta. Her critically acclaimed books Southbound: Essays on Identity, Inheritance, and Social Change, and The Parted Earth have been featured in The Wall Street Journal, NPR, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Harper's Bazaar, Ms., Garden & Gun, the Star Tribune, the Post and Courier, Chicago Review of Books, Buzzfeed, and elsewhere. Anjali's other writing has appeared in The Oxford American, Harper's Bazaar, Poets & Writers, USA Today, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Washington Post, and elsewhere. A former board member of the National Book Critics Circle, she has received awards from the South Asian Journalists Association and the American Society of Journalists and Authors, and has attended residencies at The Hambidge Center, Wildacres, and Rockvale Writers' Colony. She lives outside of Atlanta with her family.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781938235962
ISBN-10: 1938235967
Publisher: Hub City Press
Publication Date: April 26th, 2022
Pages: 304
Language: English