Fungi Grow (Hardcover)

Fungi Grow By Maria Gianferrari, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator) Cover Image

Fungi Grow (Hardcover)

$18.99


Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.
Discover when, how, where, and why fungi grow in this poetic and illuminating nonfiction picture book in the vein of When the Sky Glows and Animal Architects.

Above ground, below ground, all around, fungi grow. They root and fruit and twist and twine everywhere on earth. Some are edible, some are medicinal, some are even poisonous. Step into this book and discover the amazing array of mushrooms and see how they multiply. Learn how fungi heal and help humans. Explore the incredible underground fungal network that helps forests thrive. And so much more!
Maria Gianferrari is a picture book reader/writer, tea-drinker, dog-lover, and birdwatcher. Maria writes books that honor our bonds with creatures both domestic and wild and that celebrate the natural world around us, including Ice Cycle: Poems about the Life of Ice illustrated by Jieting Chen, Being a Dog: A Tail of Mindfulness illustrated by Pete Oswald, Bobcat Prowling illustrated by Bagram Ibatouilline, and Be a Tree! illustrated by Felicita Sala. She lives with her family in Massachusetts in a house encircled by trees. To learn more about Maria, visit her website: MariaGianferrari.com.

Diana Sudyka is a Chicago-based illustrator. Early on, she created screen-printed gig posters for musicians but currently her illustration work focuses on young adult, middle grade, and children’s books. She has illustrated several volumes of the award-winning book series The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart and Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley, as well as the picture books Would You Come Too? by Liz Garton Scanlon, Sometimes Rain by Meg Fleming, What Miss Mitchell Saw by Hayley Barrett, How to Find a Bird by Jennifer Ward, and Fungi Grow by Maria Gianferrari. Visit her at DianaSudyka.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781665903653
ISBN-10: 1665903651
Publisher: Beach Lane Books
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Pages: 48
Language: English
"Molds and mushrooms flourish in this introduction to the fungal life cycle.... exuberant and engaging."
— Kirkus Reviews

"The partnership of an action-oriented text and vibrant watercolor illustrations creates an enthusiastic introduction to the growth and effects (both positive and negative) of various forms of fungi....Terrific."
— Horn Book, *STARRED REVIEW*

"A fung-guide, indeed."
— Booklist

"This vibrantly illustrated picture book sheds a comprehensive light on the often-overlooked mushroom.... A noteworthy addition to all collections and a book that is sure to enthrall young biologists."
— School Library Journal, *STARRED REVIEW*