Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights (Hardcover)

Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe
2 on hand, as of Apr 3 5:15pm

Description


From award-winning author Karen Blumenthal, Jane Against the World is deep and passionate look at the riveting history of the fight for reproductive rights in the United States.

Tracing the path to the landmark decision in Roe v. Wade and the continuing battle for women's rights, Blumenthal examines, in a straightforward tone, the root causes of the current debate around abortion and repercussions that have affected generations of American women.

This eye-opening book is the perfect tool to facilitate difficult discussions and awareness of a topic that is rarely touched on in school but affects each and every young person. It's also perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Deborah Heiligman.

This journalistic look at the history of abortion and the landmark case of Roe v. Wade is an important and necessary book.

About the Author


Karen Blumenthal is an award-winning children's non-fiction writer and a long-time journalist. Her book Bootleg: Murder, Moonshine, and the Lawless Years of Prohibition received four starred reviews and was a finalist for the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award. Later, Six Days in October: The Stock Market Crash of 1929, was named a Sibert Honor Book, and Let Me Play: The Story of Title IX, won a Jane Addams Children's Book Award. Karen's recent book, Tommy: The Gun That Changed America, explores the history and controversy of the famous and deadly Tommy gun. She lives in Dallas, Texas.

Praise For…


"Jane Against the World reads, at times, like a legal thriller. I kept reminding myself, “Wait, I know how this ends."...Blumenthal has done her job well: presenting the history, and leaving readers to wrestle with what the future may hold for families facing unwanted pregnancies."—The New York Times



*"An account of the tumultuous struggle for abortion rights in the United States...Gripping reading; necessary for every library serving teens."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

*"This essential guide, which gives voices to vulnerable populations, demands to be heard."—Booklist, starred review



" An excellent purchase for public and high school nonfiction collections."—School Library Journal

" Blumenthal’s impeccable research is revealed in the extensive back matter (including documentation, a subject bibliography, a timeline, and a glossary) that completes this compelling book."—The Horn Book

"Written in clear, accessible language, as lively as it is thorough, the book presents the issue as far more nuanced and complex than the often sharply divided “pro-choice” and “pro-life” stances it is often boiled down to."—Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9781626721654
ISBN-10: 1626721653
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: February 25th, 2020
Pages: 400