The Tudor Rose (Paperback)

The Tudor Rose By Margaret Campbell Barnes Cover Image

The Tudor Rose (Paperback)

$18.99


This book is currently on backorder. Please call or email for availability.

"A magnificent portrait of a great queen."—The Boston Herald

Fans of Phillipa Gregory, Kate Morton, and Marie Benedict will love this compelling story of Elizabeth of York, the first Tudor Queen, who united a kingdom in turmoil and laid the foundation for England's most famous and dramatic kings and queens to come.

As a young woman, Elizabeth of York has the most valuable possession in all of England—a legitimate claim to the crown. Her quest to do what is right for her country and her family throws her into a tumultuous drama of political intrigue, rebellion, and murder.

Two princes battle to win Britain's most rightful heiress for a bride and her kingdom for his own. On one side is her uncle Richard, the last Plantagenet King, whom she fears is the murderer of her two brothers, the would-be kings. On the other side is Henry Tudor, the exiled knight. Now, Elizabeth must choose who will make the better king of England and even still, who she will marry.

Thrust into the intrigue and drama of the War of the Roses, Elizabeth has a country within her grasp—if she can find the strength to unite a kingdom torn apart by a thirst for power.

Everyone can find something to love!

  • Historical fiction featuring bold, daring women
  • A untold story you haven't heard before
  • All the intrigue of a sweeping historical drama
  • A pinch of romance
  • A glimpse into the origins of the Tudor dynasty

"If you love Historical Fiction or the Tudors, you cannot go wrong by picking up this book."—The Literate Housewife

New York Times bestseller Margaret Campbell Barnes, now deceased, wrote several historical novels, including Brief Gaudy Hour, My Lady of Cleves, King’s Fool, The Tudor Rose, Within the Hollow Crown, With All My Heart, Isabel the Fair, The King’s Bed, Lady on the Coin, and Mary of Carisbrooke. Her novels have sold more than 2 million copies worldwide.

Product Details ISBN: 9781402224683
ISBN-10: 1402224680
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: October 1st, 2009
Pages: 336
Language: English
"Fans of the period will want to check this book out. " — Drey’s Library

"If you are looking for the next Philippa Gregory or Sharon Kay Penman, give Margaret Campbell Barnes a try...she was writing what we want to read today fifty years ago!" — The Tome Traveller’s Weblog

"An interesting glimpse into history with action flowing smoothly until you’re at the end and want to know more." — Reading Extravaganza

"Full of intrigue, lies and many a plot to take over the throne... very interesting." — All About the {n}

"Elizabeth of York is shown as a lovely, strong and passionate woman, and her story is well worth reading." — A Hoyden’s Look at Literature

"A fast-paced read and will entertain readers with a series of plot twists." — Savvy Verse & Wit

"A+... I was so happy to read and learn about Henry’s mother. " — Kylee’s Journal

"Margaret Campbell Barnes has done an excellent job of researching Elizabeth of York's life, and of putting the reader into her shoes to get a glimpse of the obligations and constant maneuvering for position those who were royal lived with. " — Booksie’s Blog

"The style is elegant... I enjoyed it immensely." — The Biblio Brat

"A wonderful book. " — Once Upon a Romance

"[A] solid, well-told, enjoyable read." — Devourer of Books

"A lovely story... [Barnes] has a gift for showing how it must be to be born to a large family and what royal life is like for such a family." — BookLoons.com

"Barnes has a way with words and I love some of her descriptions of the time and place. " — So Many Precious Books, So Little Time

"I couldn't stop reading... a classic. " — Musings of a Bibliophile

"Elizabeth delivers the Tudor dynasty to its own glorious years." — Curled Up with a Good Book

"Margaret Campbell Barnes is an expert storyteller and weaves an amazing tale of English history told through the incredible life of Elizabeth of York. " — Cheeky Reads

"This story delivers the fantastic mixed with a dose of realism... rich with detail and history." — The Long and Short of It

"A nice story of a girl-turned-woman-turned-Queen. Elizabeth is an interesting woman and her story is definitely a unique one!" — Passages to the Past

"The Tudor Rose is a wonderful historical read and well worth curling up with for immersion into another world. " — Medieval Bookworm

"Campbell Barnes’ writing and story telling shine. " — The Literate Housewife

"If you love Historical Fiction or the Tudors, you cannot go wrong by picking up this book." — The Literate Housewife