Midnight Showing (The Malice Compendium #2) (Paperback)

Midnight Showing (The Malice Compendium #2) By Megan Shepherd Cover Image

Midnight Showing (The Malice Compendium #2) (Paperback)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe (55 Haywood St, Asheville)
15 on hand, as of Feb 23 12:44pm
(HORROR)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Malice Compendium series.

Discovering her father’s strange final manuscript has brought only mayhem and darkness to Haven Marbury’s life. In Book Two of the Malice Compendium, what has leapt off the page threatens everybody.

“Gripping, chilling, creepy, and enthralling . . . Malice House channels Shirley Jackson.” —Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane, on Malice House
 
“Beautifully written and steeped in Gothic lore, Malice House explores themes of family and legacy, magic and curses, and the mysterious power of stories.”
—Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls, on Malice House

 
Now both hunter and prey, Haven travels far and wide to discover the contours of her family curse and escape the worst of her late father’s creations. Constantly looking over her shoulder, she fears Uncle Arnold the most. His irresistible whispers compel victims to commit horrifying deeds, and he’s hungry to use Haven’s abilities to rewrite the world to his liking.
 
Drawn to the desert scrublands and Hollywood mansions of California, Haven discovers a string of murders that point directly to members of her family. Given shelter by a mysterious benefactor, Haven and her sister forge questionable allegiances, using some otherworldly creatures to hunt down others. And when the trail of death ends at a studio from the Golden Age of horror films, reality and fiction become the strangest of bedfellows indeed.
Megan Shepherd is a New York Times best-selling and Carnegie Medal–nominated author who grew up in her family’s independent bookstore in the Blue Ridge Mountains. She is the author of many acclaimed novels and now lives and writes on a historic farm outside Asheville, North Carolina, with her family, an especially scruffy dog, and several ghosts.

Author Website: https://www.meganshepherd.com
Product Details ISBN: 9781368101547
ISBN-10: 1368101542
Publisher: Hyperion Avenue
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: The Malice Compendium
"Megan Shepherd has done it again! I raced through MIDNIGHT SHOWING, completely enthralled in the tightly woven web of twists, turns, and old Hollywood urban legends. THE MALICE COMPENDIUM is quickly becoming my favorite series!"
   —Erin A. Craig, #1 New York Times bestselling author of House of Roots and Ruin

(On Malice House) “Haunting and atmospheric, Megan Shepherd expertly blends horror and suspense in her captivating book-within-a-book adult debut. Beautifully written and steeped in Gothic lore, Malice House explores themes of family and legacy, magic and curses, and the mysterious power of stories.”
   —Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger

(On Malice House) "Gripping, chilling, creepy, and enthralling, Megan Shepherd's new thriller Malice House channels Shirley Jackson, if Shirley Jackson knew how to make me check under the bed every night before going to sleep. Malice House is a must for readers who love gothic horror, creaking old houses, attics overflowing with dark secrets, or for anyone who has ever secretly suspected that there is an entire other universe hovering just out of reach."
   —Katherine Howe, New York Times bestselling author of Conversion and The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane

(On Malice House) “This book, like Malice House itself, contains many secrets, and you will read it voraciously to try to find and consume them all. May it compel you as swiftly as it compelled me."
   —Chuck Wendig, NYT bestselling author of Wanderers and the Star Wars: The Aftermath trilogy 

(On Malice House) “In her adult debut, Shepherd (Midnight Beauties) conjures up a twisted tale—made up of even more twisted tales—perfect for adults nostalgic for Scary Stories To Tell in the Dark.”
   —Library Journal

(On Malice House) “All is not what it seems at Malice House, and Shepherd uses the conventions of a gothic haunted-house tale to keep readers on the edge of their seats. In her adult debut, bestselling young adult author Shepherd has written an intensely spooky and scary tale about the power of stories and the art of creation. Highly recommended."
   —Booklist (starred)

(On Malice House) "Each word of this novel felt like a blade down the spine, chilling and haunting and perfectly crafted. Megan Shepherd weaves a story like no one else, and Malice House is no exception."
   —Shea Ernshaw, New York Timesbestselling author of A History of Wild Places

(On Malice House) "Shepherd's deft adult debut is a propulsively charming nightmare, pooling like spilled ink across your imagination. Count me a happy resident of Malice House amidst all its monsters." 
   —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Hide

(On Malice House) “Utterly original and exquisitely terrifying, Malice House unfolds like a carefully crafted mystery. Every twist and reveal drew me deeper into its walls and the monsters within refused to let me go. Like a bone-chilling Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children for grown-ups.”
   —Elle Cosimano, USA Today bestselling author of Finlay Donovan Is Killing It

(On Malice House) “Turn on all the lights before you start Malice House, and plan to stay up late. Megan Shepherd's novel is a sophisticated, gothic tale that will keep readers turning the pages and guessing what's next until the very end.”

   —Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

(On Malice House) “Beyond phenomenal! This book scratched an itch I’ve had since reading Night Film years ago. I adored every second! Malice, and all its denizens, are going to linger with me for a very, very long time to come!”
   —Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of House of Salt and Sorrows

(On Malice House) “Megan Shepherd crafts a seriously tight mystery with plenty of red herrings, shocking twists and even a few jump scares, making it a chilling thriller with a totally immersive setting. At the same time, it is a deliciously dark fantasy that is a true testament to the power of stories and perfect for any book lover who has ever wanted to step inside a book or has been obsessed with a favorite author (bad idea, says Haven). Haunting, full of secrets and strangely charming, Malice House is perfect for readers of Leigh Bardugo, Shea Ernshaw and Katherine Howe.”
   —Bookreporter