Rick Riordan Presents: The Dark Becomes Her (Hardcover)

Rick Riordan Presents: The Dark Becomes Her By Judy I. Lin Cover Image

Rick Riordan Presents: The Dark Becomes Her (Hardcover)

$18.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Magic Steeped in Poison, ventures into horror with Rick Riordan Presents in this a sinister tale of the supernatural, sisterhood, and the shadows that rule our darkest desires. Perfect for fans of Ryan La Sala and Trang Thanh Tran.

Ruby Chen has always played the part of the dutiful eldest daughter: excelling in school; excelling in piano lessons; excelling at keeping her younger sister, Tina, focused on extracurriculars meant to impress college admissions officers.

But when a ghost from the spirit world attacks Ruby in the middle of Vancouver’s Chinatown neighborhood, her life is plunged into a darkness that no amount of duty can free her from. Overnight, Ruby’s sister seems to change. There are strange noises coming from her bedroom at all hours; and the once sweet, funny Tina has been replaced by something dark and unnatural.

As Ruby races to save her sister from demonic possession, she is thrown into an ancient battle over the gateway to the underworld. On one side, a sinister traveling temple known for making dark wishes come true has returned to Chinatown after many years—intent on breaking down the gateway and unleashing the wickedness within. On the other side, the guardians determined to stop this encroaching evil

And in order to survive, Ruby must not only face the horror taking over her community, but must also confront the horror within herself.

Chinese and Taiwanese mythology get the Junji Ito treatment in this bone-chilling, propulsive story that takes the horrors of the Asian diaspora experience to a whole new level.

Endorsed by Rick Riordan, author of Percy Jackson and the Olympians, now a hit series on Disney+.

Look for these other young adult titles from Rick Riordan Presents
  • Ballad & Dagger by Daniel José Older
  • It Waits in the Forest by Sarah Dass
  • A Drop of Venom by Sajni Patel
Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the Book of Tea duology (A Magic Steeped in Poison and A Venom Dark and Sweet), was born in Taiwan and immigrated to Canada with her family at a young age. She grew up with her nose in a book and loved to escape to imaginary worlds. She now works as an occupational therapist and still spends her nights dreaming up imaginary worlds of her own. She lives on the Canadian prairies with her husband and daughters. You can find her online at www.JudyILin.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781368099097
ISBN-10: 1368099092
Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents
Publication Date: October 1st, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English