The Girl Who Sang: A Holocaust Memoir of Hope and Survival (Paperback)

The Girl Who Sang: A Holocaust Memoir of Hope and Survival By Estelle Nadel, Sammy Savos, Bethany Strout Cover Image

The Girl Who Sang: A Holocaust Memoir of Hope and Survival (Paperback)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe (55 Haywood St, Asheville)
1 on hand, as of May 25 8:51pm
(YA GRAPHIC NOVELS)

A heartrending graphic memoir about a young Jewish girl's fight for survival in Nazi occupied Poland, The Girl Who Sang illustrates the power of a brother's love, the kindness of strangers, and finding hope when facing the unimaginable.

Born to a Jewish family in a small Polish village, Estelle Nadel—then known as Enia Feld—was just seven years old when the Nazis invaded Poland in 1939. Once a vibrant child with a song for every occasion, Estelle would eventually lose her voice as, over the next five years, she would survive the deaths of their mother, father, their eldest brother and sister, and countless others.

A child at the mercy of her neighbors during a terrifying time in history, The Girl Who Sang is an enthralling first-hand account of Estelle's fight for survival during World War II. She would weather loss, betrayal, near-execution, and spend two years away from the warmth of the sun—all before the age of eleven. And once the war was over, Estelle would walk barefoot across European borders and find remnants of home in an Austrian displaced persons camp before finally crossing the Atlantic to arrive in New York City—a young woman carrying the unseen scars of war.

Beautifully rendered in bright hues with expressive, emotional characters, debut illustrator Sammy Savos masterfully brings Estelle story of survival during the Holocaust to a whole new generation of readers. The Girl Who Sang is perfect for fans of March, Maus, and Anne Frank's Diary.

Estelle Nadel (1934-2023) was a Holocaust survivor, business owner, and devoted singer. Over the course of thirty years, she had shared her story with countless young people, and had her testimony recorded by the Shoah Foundation Institute and housed at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. She is survived by her husband, three sons, and five grandchildren.

Sammy Savos is an illustrator and storyboard artist who has worked on shows at Cartoon Network, Titmouse Inc., and ShadowMachine. She is most interested in storytelling, whether it be through comics or storyboarding. The Girl Who Sang: A Holocaust Memoir of Hope and Survival is her debut.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250247773
ISBN-10: 1250247772
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: January 23rd, 2024
Pages: 272
Language: English

"A shocking, heart-wrenching survival story, skillfully told and beautifully drawn." —Steve Sheinkin, author of the New York Times bestseller Bomb and Impossible Escape

"Told in five parts, Nadel’s story presents readers with a picture of her life before (“I thought we would be this happy forever”), during, and—crucially—after the war. Savos’ exceptionally powerful illustrations convey the extremes of human emotion, make original use of different perspectives, and are both cinematic and intimate; they also do not shy away from accurately portraying the hardships and violence. Sweeping, stark, tragic, and triumphant. —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"An excellent accompaniment to lessons on World War II, this book will help countless students examine the Holocaust on a personal level. A must-have. The graphic novel format will appeal to those whose first choice might not be history or biography, and all others will be invited to consider the full-life experiences of Holocaust survivors." —School Library Journal, starred review

"The artwork is extraordinary in conveying emotion, from the increasingly rare (and then non-existent for years) bright hues that surround Estelle’s early childhood to the sharp, angular lines of war." —BCCB