The Girl and the Ghost (Compact Disc)

The Girl and the Ghost By Hanna Alkaf, Mirai Booth Ong (Read by) Cover Image
$29.99
This book is currently on backorder. Please call or email for availability.

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


“A marvelously unique story that incorporates both an unfamiliar modern-day world and an uncommon mythology. Should be a great fit for fans of Percy Jackson and the books of Erin Entrada Kelly.”
— Rosie Lee-Parks, Readers' Books, Sonoma, CA

Description


A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother's legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn't know that pelesits have a dark side--and when Pink's shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black's Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi's Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781094169163
ISBN-10: 1094169161
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Language: English