I Was Told There Would Be Romance (Hardcover)

I Was Told There Would Be Romance By Marie Arnold Cover Image

I Was Told There Would Be Romance (Hardcover)

$18.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

For fans of Never Have I Ever and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about a young Haitian girl navigating high school, friendship, and crushes.

Fifteen-year-old Fancy Augustine is a Haitian American girl with simple desires. She’d like to trade in her floppy, oversize boobs for cute, perky ones. She’d love a boyfriend. And she’s desperate for an invite to the biggest event of the school year: Imani Park’s birthday party. When Fancy learns her BFF, Tilly, has received a coveted invite and has a secret boyfriend, she is (understandably) devastated and wholeheartedly determined to do whatever it takes to get her own happily ever after.

So what if she makes a deal with the devil (Imani) that guarantees her an invite—but only if she can bring a boyfriend? And what’s so bad about letting her crush, Rahim, believe that she can create a voodoo potion for him in exchange for him posing as her boyfriend? And, yeah, maybe she’s destroying her friendship with Tilly and falling hopelessly behind in her schoolwork, but Fancy knows it’ll all be worth it in the end. Plus, it’s not like Fancy’s parents would really make good on their threats of sending her back to Haiti...right?

Marie Arnold was born in Port-Au-Prince, Haiti and came to America at the age of seven. She grew up in Brooklyn, New York alongside her extended family. She attended Columbia College in Chicago, where her main focus was creative writing. As Lola StVil, she is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling indie author. Over two million readers have downloaded her Young Adult fantasy series GUARDIANS. She currently has 3 projects under development at Disney Junior and Disney Plus, one of which is an animated show based on her middle grade novel The Year I Flew Away.
 
Product Details ISBN: 9780316568005
ISBN-10: 0316568007
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: October 15th, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English