Extraordinary Magic: The Storytelling Life of Virginia Hamilton (Hardcover)

Extraordinary Magic: The Storytelling Life of Virginia Hamilton By Nina Crews Cover Image

Extraordinary Magic: The Storytelling Life of Virginia Hamilton (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now
Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe (55 Haywood St, Asheville)
1 on hand, as of May 18 8:46pm
(CHILDREN'S BIOGRAPHY)
★ "Purchase this lovely picture book . . . to encourage future creators. With every page, readers will be inspired to follow their own magic." —School Library Journal, starred review

This lyrical picture book biography tells the story of one of America’s most celebrated children’s book authors, Virginia Hamilton, the first African American to win the Newbery Medal, and is perfect for fans of Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré.


Virginia was free.
To be a dreamer.
To be a wanderer.
To be her own unique self.
Free to be.

 
Virginia Hamilton was only nine years old when she decided she would become a writer. Growing up in the countryside of Ohio, she listened to her family’s stories and knew that words held extraordinary magic. From her childhood years discovering her love for storytelling, to her early adult life honing her craft in the city, Virginia found her voice in her writing as she began a career defined by her roots.  

Through interconnected poems, this moving biography celebrates the remarkable life of the highly decorated and much beloved Virginia Hamilton. It’s a stunning tribute to a girl who dared to dream—and inspired those after her to do the same.

Nina Crews is the acclaimed author and illustrator of I’m Not Small and One Hot Summer Day and the illustrator of Not Done Yet: Shirley Chisholm’s Fight for Change by Tameka Fryer Brown, as well as Seeing Into Tomorrow: Haiku by Richard Wright, A Girl Like Me by Angela Johnson, and The Neighborhood Mother Goose. She is the recipient of the NY Library Association Empire State Award. Nina lives in Brooklyn, New York with her husband and son. She invites you to visit her online at ninacrews.com.

Product Details ISBN: 9780316383592
ISBN-10: 0316383597
Publisher: Christy Ottaviano Books
Publication Date: January 9th, 2024
Pages: 40
Language: English
Praise for Extraordinary Magic:

* "Depicting the genesis of the imaginative world of a groundbreaking writer for children, this is the first picture book biography about Virginia Hamilton . . . Purchase this lovely picture book . . . to encourage future creators. With every page, readers will be inspired to follow their own magic."—School Library Journal, starred review

"Poems and pictures trace Virginia Hamilton’s family history, childhood, and growth into a writer…. In poem after poem—all in delicate, unrhymed verse—Crews carefully gives budding writers a role model…. Both a tribute to Hamilton’s genius and an invitation to those yet to come."—Kirkus

"Before she was an award–winning author of children’s books, Virginia Hamilton (1934–2002)  learned the art of storytelling from her close-knit family. Crews’s free-verse poems recount Hamilton’s Ohio upbringing learning from her father about Black luminaries, and wondering how she might shine like the starry individuals in her beloved family…. Digitally rendered, shape-based illustrations attend slice-of-life lines to emphasize Hamilton’s experiences walking through the world as a storyteller whose 'most extravagant trips/ were in her mind.'"—Publishers Weekly