Take Me to Laolao (Hardcover)

Take Me to Laolao By Kelly Zhang, Evie Zhu (Illustrator) Cover Image

Take Me to Laolao (Hardcover)

By Kelly Zhang, Evie Zhu (Illustrator)

$19.99


Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days.

Celebrate the Spring Lantern Festival! This gentle picture book explores the special bond between children and their grandmothers, all against the backdrop of Chinese mythology and holiday celebration. A must-read for fans of Drawn Together or I Dream of Popo!

There’s nothing Lili loves more than celebrating the Spring Lantern Festival with her family. But this will be the first time she attends the festivities without her beloved lăolao. Though it’s one of Lili’s favorite days of the year, she can’t help but wish, as she drifts off to sleep, that Lăolao were still there to enjoy bowls of sweet rice balls and solve fun riddles with her.

Then, that night, the first full moon of the new year invites Lili on an incredible journey.

Lili will travel to the bottom of the sea to visit the Dragon King and past the misty clouds to see the Jade Emperor. But will she get to see the one person she wants to see most in the entire world before the night is over?

Kelly Zhang is a first-generation Chinese immigrant, children’s writer, and Chinese/English literary translator based in Ottawa, Canada. Kelly draws on her lived experiences to tell heartfelt stories and to connect readers of diverse backgrounds. Through writing and translating, she hopes to encourage children to stay curious about their world and to speak up with their uniquely beautiful voices. Visit Kelly at kellyzhangyl.com.



Evie Zhu is an award-winning illustrator inspired by her travels around the world. Originally from China, she earned her MA in illustration from the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore, Maryland. In her spare time, she loves talking to birds and meditating with her intelligent cat, Lulu. Evie has the imagination of a child and often creates new fairylands in her head, which inspire her work in children’s illustration. She now works and lives in Bologna, Italy. Visit eviezhu.com to view more of her artwork.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063217652
ISBN-10: 0063217651
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: January 9th, 2024
Pages: 32
Language: English

“Infused with magic and warmth, this folkloric tale moves with a gentle rhythm perfectly suited for bedtime. The ethereal palette of twilight blues and purples, and then bright spreads of red, evoke both the mysterious magic and undeniable joy that runs through the story.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Zhang’s writing is filled with warmth and genuine affection, making it a perfect read-aloud for parents and caregivers looking to share meaningful moments with their little ones. Storytelling and enchanting illustrations come together to create an experience that will resonate with children and adults.” — School Library Journal

“Readers will share in Lili’s bittersweet journey, delighting in the celebratory moments while feeling her sadness. Intricate illustrations bring this charming story of love and loss to life.” — Booklist

“Tender tale of family bonding. A charming journey rich with Chinese folktales and imagery.”  — Kirkus Reviews