Where I Live (Hardcover)

Where I Live Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 19 8:45pm

Description


Included on Bustle's list of the "27 Most Anticipated YA Contemporary Books Hitting Shelves in 2018"!

“Fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon will enjoy this realistic debut novel, which brings to light heavy topics of homelessness and abuse.” —School Library Journal

“Where I Live is hard-hitting and real and filled with hope. It makes you want to find your voice, find your people, and tell your story.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe

From debut author Brenda Rufener comes a heart-wrenching and evocative story perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, Girl in Pieces, and All the Bright Places.

Linden Rose has a big secret—she is homeless and living in the halls of her small-town high school. Her position as school blog editor, her best friends, Ham and Seung, and the promise of a future far away are what keep Linden under the radar and moving forward.

But when cool-girl Bea comes to school with a bloody lip, the damage hits too close to home. Linden begins looking at Bea’s life, and soon her investigation prompts people to pay more attention. And attention is the last thing she needs.

Linden knows the only way to put a stop to the violence is to tell Bea’s story and come to terms with her own painful past. Even if that means breaking her rules for survival and jeopardizing the secrets she’s worked so hard to keep.

Praise For…


“A powerful, stirring debut, Where I Live takes us on a journey into a hidden world that exists all around us—exploring homelessness, poverty, love, and grief with insight, sensitivity, and most of all, hope.”

“A compelling and deeply felt debut, Where I Live is an unflinching portrayal of homelessness, abuse, and love. Linden’s story grabbed me and didn’t let me go.”

Where I Live tempers the precarious existence of homelessness with the saving grace of friendship. A poignant, hopeful, and unvarnished story of courage and resilience.”

“Fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon will enjoy this realistic debut novel, which brings to light heavy topics of homelessness and abuse.”

“This debut novel takes readers into a world where serious issues of poverty, homelessness, and violence are juxtaposed with the everyday drama of high school hierarchies, relationships, and life.”

“A frank and emotional portrayal of a very real, very prevalent, but often unspoken problem in the United States, Where I Live is long overdue in the young adult world.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062571090
ISBN-10: 0062571095
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 27th, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English