Texas: The Great Theft (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Texas: The Great Theft Cover Image
By Carmen Boullosa, Samantha Schnee (Translator)
$15.95
Not Currently On Our Shelves. Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Think Catch-22 on the Mexican border. Carmen Boullosa's Texas: The Great Theft is a surprisingly funny, intensely complex and occasionally shocking take on the revisionist Western. It's one of the most purely entertaining things I've read in awhile, while never losing a sense of erudite ambition and thought-provoking moral ambiguity. It's a book that grows on me every time I think about it.

— Justin

Description


"Mexico's greatest woman writer."--Roberto Bolano

"A luminous writer . . . Boullosa is a masterful spinner of the fantastic"--Miami Herald

An imaginative writer in the tradition of Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, and Cesar Aira, Carmen Boullosa shows herself to be at the height of her powers with her latest novel. Loosely based on the little-known 1859 Mexican invasion of the United States, Texas is a richly imagined evocation of the volatile Tex-Mex borderland. Boullosa views border history through distinctly Mexican eyes, and her sympathetic portrayal of each of her wildly diverse characters--Mexican ranchers and Texas Rangers, Comanches and cowboys, German socialists and runaway slaves, Southern belles and dancehall girls--makes her storytelling tremendously powerful and absorbing.

Shedding important historical light on current battles over the Mexican-American frontier while telling a gripping story with Boullosa's singular prose and formal innovation, Texas marks the welcome return of a major writer who has previously captivated American audiences and is poised to do so again.

Carmen Boullosa (b. 1954) is one of Mexico's leading novelists, poets, and playwrights. Author of seventeen novels, her books have been translated into numerous world languages. Recipient of numerous prizes and honors, including a Guggenheim fellowship, Boullosa is currently Distinguished Lecturer at City College of New York.

Samantha Schnee is founding editor and chairman of the board of Words Without Borders. She has also been a senior editor with Zoetrope, and her translations have appeared in the Guardian, Granta, and the New York Times.

About the Author


Carmen Boullosa is one of Mexico's leading novelists, poets, and playwrights. She has published over a dozen novels, two of which were designated the Best Novel Published in Mexico by the prestigious magazine Reforma. Her second novel, Antes won the renowned Xavier Villarutia Prize for Best Mexican Novel. Her novel La otra mano de Lepanto was also selected as one of the Top 100 Novels Published in Spanish in the past 25 years. Boullosa has received numerous prizes and honors, including a Guggenheim fellowship. Also a poet and playwright, she is a Distinguished Lecturer at City College of New York, and her books have been translated into Italian, Dutch, German, French, Portuguese, Chinese, and Russian. Samantha Schnee is the founding editor and chairman of the board of Words Without Borders. She has also been a senior editor with Zoetrope, and her translations have appeared in The Guardian, Granta, and The New York Times.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781941920008
ISBN-10: 1941920004
Publisher: Deep Vellum Publishing
Publication Date: December 2nd, 2014
Pages: 304
Language: English